2020 NASCAR Cup Series Preview begins with “The Clash”

2020 NASCAR Cup Series and Busch Clash at Daytona Logos
(Photos courtesy of NASCARmedia.com)

The 2020 NASCAR season is getting very close as Daytona Speedweeks get underway and the Busch Clash at Daytona International Speedway is set for Sunday (2/9).

There have been some changes since last season among cars, drivers and teams. Here is a look at which drivers will be in which cars racing for which teams.

2020 NASCAR Cup Series Drivers (Sorted by car #)

Car # Driver Manufacturer Racing Team
00 Quin Houff Chevy Starcom Racing
1 Kurt Busch Chevy Chip Ganassi Racing
2 Brad Keselowski Ford Team Penske
3 Austin Dillon Chevy Richard Childress Racing
4 Kevin Harvick Ford Stewart-Haas Racing
6 Ryan Newman Ford Roush Fenway Racing
8 Tyler Reddick Chevy Richard Childress Racing
9 Chase Elliott Chevy Hendrick Motorsports
10 Aric Almirola Ford Stewart-Haas Racing
11 Denny Hamlin Toyota Joe Gibbs Racing
12 Rayn Blaney Ford Team Penske
13 Ty Dillon Chevy Germain Racing
14 Clint Bowyer Ford Stewart-Haas Racing
15 Brennan Poole Chevy Premium Motorsports
17 Chris Buescher Ford Roush Fenway Racing
18 Kyle Busch Toyota Joe Gibbs Racing
19 Martin Truex Jr. Toyota Joe Gibbs Racing
20 Erik Jones Toyota Joe Gibbs Racing
21 Matt DiBenedetto Ford Wood Brothers Racing
22 Joey Logano Ford Team Penske
24 William Byron Chevy Hendrick Motorsports
32 Corey LaJoie Ford Go FAS Racing
34 Michael McDowell Ford Front Row Motorsports
37 Ryan Preece Chevy JTG Daughtery Racing
38 John Hunter Nemecheck Ford Front Row Motorsports
41 Cole Custer Ford Stewart-Haas Racing
42 Kyle Larson Chevy Chip Ganassi Racing
43 Bubba Wallace Chevy Richard Petty Motorsports
47 Ricky Stenhouse Jr. Chevy JTG Daughtery Racing
48 Jimmie Johnson Chevy Hendrick Motorsports
49 Chad Finchum Toyota MBM Motorsports
51 Joey Gase Chevy Rick Ware Racing
52 J.J. Yaley Chevy Rick Ware Racing
66 Timmy Hill Toyota MBM Motorsports
88 Alex Bowman Chevy Hendrick Motorsports
95 Christopher Bell Toyota Leavine Family Racing
96 Daniel Suarez Toyota Gaunt Brothers Racing

The exhibition race is commonly called “The Clash” to make it simple. It will be the first real look at some of the top drivers in the NASCAR Cup Series racing for a win. To race in “The Clash” drivers must meet one of the five following criteria…

  • 2019 Busch Pole Award winners
  • Former Clash winners who competed full-time in the previous season
  • Former Daytona 500 winners who competed full-time in the previous season
  • Former Daytona 500 pole winners who competed full-time the previous season
  • Drivers who qualified for the 2019 NASCAR Cup Series playoffs

The drivers that have qualified to race this Sunday are:
(in alphabetical order of last name)

Aric Almirola
Ryan Blaney
Alex Bowman
Clint Bowyer
Kurt Busch
Kyle Busch
William Byron
Austin Dillon
Chase Elliott
Denny Hamlin
Kevin Harvick
Jimmie Johnson
Erik Jones
Brad Keselowski
Kyle Larson
Joey Logano
Ryan Newman
Martin Truex Jr.

Daniel Suarez qualified for the race by winning a Cup Series pole last season. However, his new team Gaunt Brothers Racing announced they would not field a car for “The Clash.” Daniel Hemric also won a Cup Series pole in 2019,however he is racing in the Xfinity Series this season.

The clash is a two-segment, 75-lap race. There will be a competition caution at lap 25 to create the two segements. There are no points to be gained during the race.

The race will begin Sunday, February 9th at 2 PM central time (3 PM eastern time) at Daytona International Speedway and will be broadcast on FS1.

By: Buck Stevens