NASCAR Playoffs Round of 8 Starts in Las Vegas

Start of NASCAR Cup Series Pennzoil 400 at Las Vegas Motor Speedway 3-6-22
Start of NASCAR Cup Series Pennzoil 400 at Las Vegas Motor Speedway 3-6-22 (Photo credit: YouTube)

The Round of Eight in the 2022 NASCAR Playoffs begins this weekend with the South Point 400 at Las Vegas Motor Speedway.

The eight drivers that remain championship contenders will likely be going all in for the win in Vegas. Getting that win would lock that driver in the Championship Four with the opportunity to race for the 2022 Cup Series Championship in the final, winner-takes-all race of the year at Phoenix Raceway November 6th. Following the Round of Twelve elimination race last weekend the points were re-set and Playoff Points added to rank the Round of Twelve drivers as listed below.

RankDriverPointsRace WinsStage WinsPlayoff Pts+/- Cutoff
1Chase Elliott4,046564631
2Joey Logano4,026262611
3Ross Chastain4,02126216
4Christopher Bell4,01824183
5Ryan Blaney4,0150715-3
6William Byron4,0152415-3
7Denny Hamlin4,0132313-5
8Chase Briscoe4,009149-9
*The drivers in 5th through 8th are currently below the cutline for this round of the Playoffs.

These drivers will be racing each other and all the rest of the drivers not in championship contention. It is unique to this sport that non-playoff teams still compete each week. Below is a look at what all teams will face equally this weekend.

Las Vegas Motor Speedway Data:
Track Size: 1.5-miles
Banking/Turns 1 & 2: 20 degrees
Banking/Turns 3 & 4: 20 degrees
Banking/Frontstretch & Backstretch: 9 degrees
Frontstretch Length:  2,275 feet
Backstretch Length:  1,572 feet

South Point 400 Data:
Season Race #: 33 of 36 (10-16-22)
Playoff Race #: 7 of 10
Race Length: 267 laps (400.5 miles)
Stage 1 & 2 Length: 80 laps (each)
Final Stage Length: 107 laps

This how the remaining eight NASCAR Playoff drivers stack up at Las Vegas Motor Speedway.

DriverRacesPolesWinsTop FivesTop 10sDNFsAverage FinishDriver Rating 
1Chase Elliott110035317.899.8 
2Joey Logano181261108.9101.7 
3Ross Chastain80011023.658.7 
4Christopher Bell51002019.673.1 
5Ryan Blaney121058111.197.1 
6William Byron90013118.387.2 
7Denny Hamlin2101510213.289.9 
8Chase Briscoe30000123.360.0 
* – Based on last 22 races at Las Vegas Motor Speedway (2005 – 2022).

The first four winners in the 2022 NASCAR Playoffs were non-playoff drivers. The last two winners have been Playoff drivers.

Which driver would you put your money on to win the South Point 400 at Las Vegas Motor Speedway? We will find out if that would be a good bet starting at 1:30 p.m. central time (2:30 p.m. eastern time) this Sunday, October 16th.

By: Buck Stevens

Buck Stevens