The Highwomen, John Prine & More Win 2020 Americana Awards

The Highwomen, John Prine & More Win 2020 Americana Awards

The Americana Music Association announced the winners of the 2020 Americana Honors & Awards on Dec. 15.

Winners included The Highwomen (Album of the Year, Song of the Year and Duo/Group of the Year), the late John Prine (Artist of the Year), Black Pumas (Emerging Act of the Year) and Brittany Haas (Instrumentalist of the Year).

John Prine, 73, died on April 7, 2020, from complications of COVID-19.

The ceremony is usually the centerpiece of AmericanaFest, which typically features more than 100 artists performing at different venues throughout Nashville. However, this year’s AmericanaFest was cancelled due to the COVID-19 pandemic. Next year’s AmericanaFest dates have been set for Sept. 21–26, 2021.

See the full list of winners and nominees below.

Album of the Year
“And It’s Still Alright,” Nathaniel Rateliff, Produced by James Barone, Patrick Meese and Nathaniel Rateliff
“Country Squire,” Tyler Childers, Produced by David Ferguson and Sturgill Simpson
“The Highwomen,” The Highwomen, Produced by Dave Cobb WINNER
“Jaime,” Brittany Howard, Produced by Brittany Howard
“While I’m Livin’,” Tanya Tucker, Produced by Brandi Carlile and Shooter Jennings

Artist of the Year
Brandi Carlile
Brittany Howard
John Prine WINNER
Tanya Tucker

Duo/Group of the Year

Black Pumas
Drive-By Truckers
The Highwomen WINNER
Buddy & Julie Miller
Our Native Daughters

Emerging Act of the Year
Black Pumas WINNER
Katie Pruitt
Aubrie Sellers
Billy Strings
Kelsey Waldon

Instrumentalist of the Year
Ellen Angelico
Annie Clements
Brittany Haas WINNER
Zachariah Hickman
Rich Hinman

Song of the Year
“And It’s Still Alright,” Nathaniel Rateliff, Written by Nathaniel Rateliff
“Bring My Flowers Now,” Tanya Tucker, Written by Brandi Carlile, Phil Hanseroth, Tim Hanseroth and Tanya Tucker
“Crowded Table,” The Highwomen, Written by Brandi Carlile, Natalie Hemby and Lori McKenna WINNER
“My Love Will Not Change,” Aubrie Sellers featuring Steve Earle, Written by Billy Burnette and Shawn Camp
“Stay High,” Brittany Howard, Written by Brittany Howard
“Thoughts and Prayers,” Drive-By Truckers, Written by Patterson Hood

photo by Curtis Hilbun,